Finalists of the 2019 IHF Awards unveiled

Finalists of the 2019 IHF Awards unveiled

14 August 2019

The International Hospital Federation (IHF) announces the finalists of the 2019 IHF/Dr Kwang Tae Kim Grand Award and Excellence Awards in Corporate Social Responsibility, Leadership and Management in Healthcare, and Quality & Safety and Patient-centered Care.
Following an extensive review by the panel of judges composed of health leaders from around the world, 27 top entries from the four categories have been selected as finalists from which the Gold, Silver, Bronze and Merit Awards will be chosen.
“I am delighted and excited to see that the quality and standards of entries are very high this year”, says Dr Lawrence Lai, Chairman of the IHF Awards Committee. “With so many excellent entries, selecting the best among the best is indeed most challenging. Hence, there is no need to be disheartened even if you are not selected this time. To the Award winners, our heartiest congratulations for a job well done!”
Since the Awards was first presented in Chicago, USA in 2015, the IHF has been recognizing innovation, excellence, outstanding achievements and best practices of hospitals and healthcare organizations. Winning projects have benefitted from the IHF Awards with global recognition that inspires their teams to strengthen commitment to their causes, earns them generous donations to support their programs, as well as encourage others to aspire for improvement and eventually earn the badge for best practice.
This year’s winners will be revealed on 8 November 2019 during the 43rd World Hospital Congress at the Oman Convention and Exhibition Centre in Muscat. Gold Winners will be invited to present in a special session during the World Hospital Congress to share their winning programs and projects while Silver, Bronze Winners and Merit Awardees will be displaying posters at the Congress exhibition.
For more information on the IHF Awards, go to:

Finalists of the 2019 IHF Awards:

IHF/Dr Kwang Tae Kim Grand Award

  • Japanese Red Cross Ashikaga Hospital (Japan): Achievement of Green Hospital for Patient, Staff and Nature
  • Kaohsiung Veterans General Hospital (Taiwan): A comprehensive and sequential solution enhancing the quality care of acute myocardial infarction
  • Memorial Hermann Health System (United States): High Reliability, Clinical Care Redesign and Baldrige Award Framework Adoption in a Large Healthcare Organization
  • Royal Hospital (Oman): Implementation of Lean in a Tertiary Care Public Hospital
  • Surgisphere Clinic (United States): International Impact on Healthcare Outcomes Through a Personalized Medicine and Patient Engagement Program

IHF/Bionexo Excellence Award for Corporate Social Responsibility

  • Aster DM Healthcare (United Arab Emirates): Aster Volunteers
  • Auna (Peru): Making Smiles
  • Dubai Health Authority (United Arab Emirates): Dubai Heart Initiative
  • KPJ Pasir Gudang Specialist Hospital (Malaysia): Medical Outreach Camps and Mobile Clinic for B40 in Remote Villages
  • Manila Doctors Hospital (Philippines): #SaveAChildSaveTheNation: A Mental Wellness Project for Children with Trauma
  • Tulungagung Dr. Iskak General Hospital (Indonesia): Public Safety Centre

IHF Excellence Award for Leadership and Management in Healthcare

  • Aga Khan University Hospital (Pakistan): iCAN – A management model leveraging technology to improve floor processes
  • Dubai Health Authority (United Arab Emirates): DHA Smart Pharmacy
  • Medcare Women & Children Hospital (United Arab Emirates): “Happy to go Home”– Reduction in discharge TAT – DMAIC Approach
  • Ministry of Health & Prevention (United Arab Emirates): Performance and Clinical Excellence (PaCE)
  • North West Hospital and Health Service in collaboration with Gidgee Healing and Western Queensland Primary Health Network (Australia): Improving access, patient experience and outcomes in Australia’s Lower Gulf Region Indigenous Communities through Tri-partite Governance and Leadership
  • Satakunta Hospital District (Finland): Customer Experience Management and Development of Service Culture
  • Tan Tock Seng Hospital (Singapore): Frequent Readmitter Programme – Holistic Multi-Disciplinary Approach for Frequent Readmitters
  • The Aga Khan University Hospital, Karachi (Pakistan): Transformed Patient Experience Through Process Innovations & Real Time Patient Tracking

IHF/Austco Excellence Award for Quality & Safety and Patient-centered Care

  • AHMC Healthcare (United States): Six-Dimensional Approach for Quality & Safety and Patient-Centered Care
  • Apollo Health & Lifestyle Ltd. (India): Apollo Safety Development Model: Building a Culture of Safety at Apollo Specialty Hospitals
  • Changi General Hospital (Singapore): Driving A Culture of Quality Improvement – The CGH Kaizen Everyday Engagement Programme (KEEP) Journey
  • Hospital da Luz (Portugal): Development of a tool of ePROMs as the main concept of outcome measure in value-based healthcare in Luz Saude
  • Hospital Vila Franca de Xira (Portugal): Reduction of the consumption of broad-spectrum antibiotics in 3 years of antimicrobial stewardship implementation at Vila Franca de Xira Hospital
  • Kaohsiung Veterans General Hospital (Taiwan): A smart healthcare solution reducing in-hospital cardiac rest by innovative early warning electronic information system
  • Manila Doctors Hospital (Philippines): Simplified Safety Innovations for the Intensive Care Unit – Acute Stroke Unit
  • Sohar Hospital (Oman): Multi-phasic project of Implementation of Antimicrobial stewardship program in Sohar Hospital

IHF Awards Sponsors:

For media inquiries:
Mylene Dayola
[email protected]

[button target=”_self” hover_type=”default” text=”Read more articles” link=”” margin=”15px”]

Group discounts available