IHF Awards

The 2019 International Hospital Federation (IHF) Awards were presented at a prestigious ceremony during the 43rd World Hospital Congress in Muscat, Oman. The IHF Awards honors hospitals and health service provider organizations for innovation, excellence, outstanding achievements and best practices in areas that are worthy of international recognition.


These include:

  • Governance, leadership, management policies and practices;
  • Quality service delivery in multiple areas at affordable costs;
  • Culture of service to motivate healthcare professionals to excel;
  • Innovations in healthcare delivery or process management;
  • Quality and safety, ethical approaches and evidence-based practices in patient-centered care;
  • Sustainable environment, energy conservation and green initiatives;
  • Addressing inequalities in healthcare service delivery to the community;
  • Advancing healthcare for emerging and developing nations


There are altogether four Awards. Each category presents a unique opportunity to showcase outstanding projects, programs and innovations. Following an extensive review by the panel of judges composed of health leaders from around the world, 27 top entries from the four categories have been selected as winners.


IHF Awards 2019 Winners


IHF/Dr. Kwang Tae Kim Grand Award

Gold: Kaohsiung Veterans General Hospital (Taiwan): A comprehensive and sequential solution enhancing the quality care of acute myocardial infarction

Silver: Memorial Hermann Health System (United States): High Reliability, Clinical Care Redesign and Baldrige Award Framework Adoption in a Large Healthcare Organization

Bronze: Japanese Red Cross Ashikaga Hospital (Japan): Achievement of Green Hospital for Patient, Staff and Nature

Merit Awardees:

  • Royal Hospital (Oman): Implementation of Lean in a Tertiary Care Public Hospital
  • Surgisphere Clinic (United States): International Impact on Healthcare Outcomes Through a Personalized Medicine and Patient Engagement Program


IHF/Bionexo Excellence Award for Corporate Social Responsibility

Gold: Tulungagung Dr. Iskak General Hospital (Indonesia): Public Safety Centre


  • Dubai Health Authority (United Arab Emirates): Dubai Heart Initiative
  • Manila Doctors Hospital (Philippines): #SaveAChildSaveTheNation: A Mental Wellness Project for Children with Trauma

 Merit Awardees:

  • Aster DM Healthcare (United Arab Emirates): Aster Volunteers
  • Auna (Peru): Making Smiles
  • KPJ Pasir Gudang Specialist Hospital (Malaysia): Medical Outreach Camps and Mobile Clinic for B40 in Remote Villages


IHF Excellence Award for Leadership and Management in Healthcare

Gold: Ministry of Health & Prevention (United Arab Emirates): Performance and Clinical Excellence (PaCE)

Silver: The Aga Khan University Hospital, Karachi (Pakistan): Transformed Patient Experience Through Process Innovations & Real Time Patient Tracking

Bronze: Dubai Health Authority (United Arab Emirates): DHA Smart Pharmacy

Merit Awardees:

  • Aga Khan University Hospital (Pakistan): iCAN – A management model leveraging technology to improve floor processes
  • Medcare Women & Children Hospital (United Arab Emirates): “Happy to go Home”– Reduction in discharge TAT – DMAIC Approach
  • North West Hospital and Health Service in collaboration with Gidgee Healing and Western Queensland Primary Health Network (Australia): Improving access, patient experience and outcomes in Australia’s Lower Gulf Region Indigenous Communities through Tri-partite Governance and Leadership
  • Satakunta Hospital District (Finland): Customer Experience Management and Development of Service Culture
  • Tan Tock Seng Hospital (Singapore): Frequent Readmitter Programme – Holistic Multi-Disciplinary Approach for Frequent Readmitters


IHF/Austco Excellence Award for Quality & Safety and Patient-centered Care

Gold: Apollo Health & Lifestyle Ltd. (India): Apollo Safety Development Model: Building a Culture of Safety at Apollo Specialty Hospitals

Silver: Changi General Hospital (Singapore): Driving A Culture of Quality Improvement – The CGH Kaizen Everyday Engagement Programme (KEEP) Journey

Bronze: Hospital Vila Franca de Xira (Portugal): Reduction of the consumption of broad-spectrum antibiotics in 3 years of antimicrobial stewardship implementation at Vila Franca de Xira Hospital

Merit Awardees:

  • AHMC Healthcare (United States): Six-Dimensional Approach for Quality & Safety and Patient-Centered Care
  • Hospital da Luz (Portugal): Development of a tool of ePROMs as the main concept of outcome measure in value-based healthcare in Luz Saude
  • Kaohsiung Veterans General Hospital (Taiwan): A smart healthcare solution reducing in-hospital cardiac rest by innovative early warning electronic information system
  • Manila Doctors Hospital (Philippines): Simplified Safety Innovations for the Intensive Care Unit – Acute Stroke Unit
  • Sohar Hospital (Oman): Multi-phasic project of Implementation of Antimicrobial stewardship program in Sohar Hospital


For more information on the categories, eligibility, prizes and selection process, visit the IHF Awards submission website.

We would like to thank our Awards Sponsors: